Loading Events

    « All Events

    • This event has passed.

    Furman Symphony Orchestra Fall Concert

    October 15, 2021@8:00 pm-9:30 pm

    “Seasons of Change” is the first concert in the Furman Symphony Orchestra’s 2021-2022 season.  The concert features two orchestral masterworks.  “Finlandia” by Jean Sibelius and “Symphony No. 5” by Franz Schubert.  In addition to these two full orchestra selections, the string section is presenting “Appalachia Waltz” by living American fiddler/composer Mark O’Connor.

    The Furman Symphony Orchestra has a long history in the Department of Music, reaching back decades. The orchestra membership brings together all of the instrumental areas of the department (strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion), and currently involves almost 60 students.  Membership is comprised of both music majors and non-majors. The FSO is directed by Visiting Professor of Music Dr. Andrew Carlson.

    This concert will honor Dr. Thomas Joiner, Professor-Emeritus, who retired in 2021. Sponsored by Dr. Andrew Carlson.

    Free admission, open to the public.


    October 15, 2021
    8:00 pm-9:30 pm
    Event Categories:


    Furman University
    View Organizer Website


    McAlister Auditorium, Furman University
    3300 Poinsett Hwy
    Greenville, SC 29613 United States
    + Google Map